All news

11 cinema experts will judge the films of Flahertiana

Traditionally, Flahertiana this year holds three competitions: International, National competition "Russian Flahertiana" and Student competition. Each of them will be judged by a separate Jury.

The Jury of the main – international – competition of the IDFF Flahertiana decides who of the filmmakers will be awarded the Grand Prix of the festival – the Big Golden Nanook and the money prize of 250 thousand roubles. Moreover, the International Jury Members choose the awardees for two Silver Nannooks: for Discovery of New Subjects and New Heroes and for Original Artistic Solution. The International Jury includes experts from different countries: Poland, Germany, Russia and the USA. The President of the Jury this year is a writer, a historian and a scriptwriter Leonid Yuzefovich. Together with him, films of the competition will be watched by Christiana Büchner, the director, a member of the commission at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, Maciej J. Drygas, the filmmaker and scriptwriter, the professor at the National Film School in Łódź and the winner of the Big Golden Nanook of 2014, Lilia Nemchenko, the director of the International Festival-Workshop of Film Schools "Kinoproba", and Jonathan Marlow, the filmmaker, producer, and the Flaherty Seminar's trustee.

Every International Jury Member has a special program, a workshop or a discussion planned at Flahertiana. So, to get the Russian audience acquainted with the culture of their countries and author's vision of the modern society Maciej J. Drygas (Poland) and Christiana Büchner (Germany) will present their own documentaries in the Jury Members' Films program. Jonathan Marlow (USA) will show the best films of the Flaherty Seminar different editions in the program Flaherty Seminar at Flahertiana in a format of discussion laboratory for two days of screenings of classical and experimental documentaries. Furthermore, every Jury Member will hold a seminar or a lecture during the Flahertiana Workshop – an open educational program of the IDFF Flahertiana.

The Jury of the National Competition «Russian Flahertiana» consists of our countrymen. They will decide the winner of the Small Golden Nanook and the money prize of 25 thousand roubles. Among this year jury members are Vyacheslav Rakov, the professor of the General History Department of the Perm State University, and a writer and a journalist Vladimir Kirshin. The head of the Jury will be the acknowledged Russian cinematographer Irina Uralskaya. Irina will present at Flahertiana several films of the Risk Film Studio Retrospective which she was personally shooting as the director of photography.

The Student Competition is the youngest of all three and again it will open new names and films to the world. The right to decide who will become new Flaherty is given to Vera Ustyugova, the professor of the Department of Ancient and Modern History of the PSU, the journalist Anna Bukatova, and the head of the Jury is Evgeny Grigoriev, ex-president of the Russian Documentary Guild, filmmaker, and producer. Evgeny will present his new film "We Will Rock You" at Flahertiana and hold a workshop. The Student Competition Jury awards the Best Student Film and money prize of 20 thousand roubles.

The visits of the foreign members of the Jury are supported by the Polish Institute in Moscow and the Consulate General of the United States of America in Yekaterinburg, and the Goethe-Institut.

International Jury Member of the IDFF Flahertiana-2017, the film director Macej J. Drygas