+7 (342) 241-38-02
+7 (342) 241-38-02Call

All news

Flahertiana 2020 has formed the jury and resumes the work of FIPRESCI at the festival

Flahertiana 2020 announces the jury. In addition to directors, producers, and writers in International, National, and Student Competitions, the jury members of the International Federation of Press (FIPRESCI) will also determine the winners of the anniversary festival. All experts will evaluate films online.

The jury of the International Competition includes the winners and participants of Flahertiana in previous years. Talal Derki will be the Jury President. His film “Of Fathers and Sons” won the 2018 festival, watching radical Islamists raise their children. Who will get the Grand Prix for the best film "Big Golden Nanook" is also determined by documentary filmmakers Georgi Lazarevski, his films received prizes at Flahertiana twice – in 2008 and 2017, and Dan Geva, who shot "Noise" about a man suffering from sound sensitivity and received Special Prize for the Best Direction. Irina Zhuravleva, author of “Bears of Kamchatka. Life Begins”, and one of the leading Russian film critics Larisa Malyukova, a columnist for “Novaya Gazeta” will also take part in the jury.

Pavel Medvedev, a documentary filmmaker, and teacher from Saint Petersburg State Institute of Film and Television will chair the jury of the National Competition. Together with him, the director, associate professor of the department of drama of St. Petersburg State Institute of Culture and Theater Anna Ganshina, and Perm writer and screenwriter Svetlana Fedotova will choose the best Russian film.

The jury of the Student Competition will be headed by Nina Romodanovskaya, associate professor at VGIK and lecturer at the University of Pittsburgh (USA), editor-in-chief of the ProfiCinema.ru portal. The jury also includes Ksenia Gapchenko, producer, director, and co-founder of Docs Vostok, and Alexey Gushchin, cinematographer, teacher of Perm State National Research University.

The return of the jury of the International Film Press Federation is an important event for Flahertiana. Representatives of FIPRESCI have already determined the winners from 2007 to 2014 and will now be present at the festival again, only in a new format – online. Film critics from different countries will evaluate the films of the International Competition and present their prize.

The 2020 FIPRESCI jury consists of German columnist Achim Forst (Germany), author of films about Wim Wenders, new Romanian cinema, Dogma 95, and author of the book “Breaking Dreams: The Cinema of Lars von Trier”. In addition to him, the films will be judged by a journalist working for Latin America, founder and editor of The Thinking Eye online magazine Lucy Virgen (Mexico) and Andrey Vasilenko (Russia) – program curator, author of articles for Cinema Art, Cineticle.com, Colta.ru.

The IDFF Flahertiana is supported by the Ministry of Culture of Perm Krai and the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation. The work of the FIPRESCI jury is supported by the Presidential Grants Fund.