+7 (342) 241-38-02
+7 (342) 241-38-02Call

All news


Today, December 17, the winners of the 20th IDFF Flahertiana became known. Prizes were awarded in three competitive programs: International Competition, National Competition "Russian Flahertiana" and Student Films Competition. The awards were also given by the FIPRESCI jury and the audience. The Closing Ceremony took place online on the festival's YouTube channel.

The Grand Prix was awarded to the film “Bitter Love” directed by Jerzy Sładkowski. It’s a film made of portraits of river cruise passengers floating by the Volga landscapes, a story of how people board a ship with broken hearts and lost illusions, but hope for a change to the better. The FIPRESCI Jury Prize went to Mladen Kovacevic's film “Merry Christmas Yiwu”. The best film of the National Competition is "Froth" by Ilya Povolotsky. The jury of the Student Competition chose the work of Olesya Epishina "Ninety First". The full list of winners is below.

The winners will receive statuettes and money prizes. Grand Prix "Big Golden Nanook" – $ 6 000, "Silver Nanooks" for the Discovery of New Subjects and Heroes and the Original Artistic Solution – $ 2 000 each. The prize for the Best Film of "Russian Flahertiana" – "Small Golden Nanook" and 75 000 rubles. The winner of the Student Competition will receive a statuette and 50 000 rubles.

The jury of the international film press FIPRESCI will give a diploma to the winner, and the winner of the Audience Award will receive a statuette.

This year the festival was held in a hybrid format: the competitive films were shown online at CoolConnection.ru, master classes, Q&A’s with film directors, Opening and Closing Ceremonies – on YouTube. A special program took place in the private philharmonic hall "Triumph". In total, 17 207 spectators joined the festival events online and offline.

Winners of Flahertiana 2020:


“Big Golden Nanook”

Grand Prix for the Best Film of the Festival

Bitter Love

Jerzy Sladkowski

Sweden, Finland, Poland


“Silver Nanook” 

 Award for Discovery of New Subjects and New Heroes

Love Child

Eva Mulvad



“Silver Nanook” 

Award for Original Artistic Solution

Lessons of Love

Malgorzata Goliszewska, Kasia Mateja



Special Jury Mention

for thorough, delicate and esthetically beautiful observation of life which is balancing between the consumerism world we are building around us, traditions and surviving

Merry Christmas, Yiwu

Mladen Kovacevic

Sweden, Serbia, France, Germany, Belgium, Qatar


Special Jury Mention

to encourage a young director who depicted an uncommon character and offered a dual glimpse into USSR's ideological heritage and Russia's political present

The Secretary of Ideology

Yuri Pivovarov



Special Jury Mention 

for sensitive description of the doubts and dilemmas of a young men trying to find his path in a consumerist and warlike world, standing next to his grandfather in a conflicting but loving relationship

Strip and War
Andrei Kutsila

Belarus, Poland



Merry Christmas, Yiwu

Mladen Kovacevic

Sweden, Serbia, France, Germany, Belgium, Qatar


Audience Award

Alone Together

Kineret Hay-Gillor, Maya Tiberman



"Small Golden Nanook"

Award for the Best Film of National Competition


Ilya Povolotsky 

Russia, Qatar


Special Jury Mention for Loyalty to Robert Flaherty’s Principles of Working on Film

A Mom for Julia

Natalia Kadyrova 



Special Jury Mention for the Power and Scale of the Visual Solution

Sockeye Salmon. Red Fish

Dmitry Shpilenok, Vladislav Grishin 



Special Jury Mention for the Successful Debut in Documentary Cinema

Northern Wind Can Be Warm

Aleksei Golovkov 




Award for the Best Student Film

Ninety First

Olesya Yepishina 



Special Jury Mention for Cinematographer’s Work 

The First Word 

Artak Serovani-Oganyan 



Special Jury Mention for Producer’s Work


Ivan Basov


The festival events were held with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation and the Ministry of Culture of the Perm Krai. Student Films Competition and Flahertiana Workshop are supported by the Presidential Grants Fund. The project is the winner of the XXII city competition of socially significant projects "The City is Us".