All news

Doug Block becomes the International Jury President of the IDFF Flahertiana

IDFF Flahertiana has formed the Jury of the International Competition. Five Jury Members are: Ben van Lieshout, filmmaker (Netherlands); Harutyun Khachatryan, filmmaker (Armenia); Sergey Miroshnichenko, filmmaker (Russia); Sergey Fedotov (Russia, Perm), director of Authorial Theatre «U Mosta» and Doug Block, filmmaker from New-York, who will be the Jury President. With a long body of highly acclaimed work as both director and producer, his films have won countless awards, screened in dozens of leading film festivals, and shown in theaters and broadcast on television throughout the world.

One of 2 Russian Jury Members, Sergey Miroshnichenko, is a professor at the All-Russian State Institute of Cinematography and multiple Russian and international awards winner. He worked with Sverdlovsk film studio, and Nikita Mikhalkov’s studio «TRITE” until founding his own studio «Ostrov”.

Independent, award-winning director, producer and screenwriter Ben van Lieshout is also a lecturer at the Utrecht School of the Arts. He directed short films, documentaries and feature films, many of them in Russia.

Harutyun Khachatryan was born in Akhalkalak (Georgia). In 1987 – 2005 he worked in Hayfilm aka Armenfilm Studio as Director and Producer, and now he is the President of the IFF “Golden Apricot” (Armenia).

Second Russian Jury Member is a citizen of Perm, Sergey Fedotov, artistic director of Authorial Theatre “U Mosta”, Honored Artist of Russia, Honored Worker of Art of Russia, Laureate of the National Award of Czech Republic, Laureate of National Theatre Award of Russia “Golden Mask”. In 2012 he was awarded with the Government Award of Russia for contribution to the development of theatrical art.

Most of the Jury Members will present their films in Jury Members’ Films program and also will have workshops.

During Flahertiana 15 films will compete in the International Competition. International Documentary Film Festival Flahertiana is held from 16th to 23rd of September for the 16th time already.

Doug Block, Jury President of IDFF Flahertiana-2016